BETA

This is new - your feedback will help us improve it.

School term and holiday dates

Check when schools start and finish and holiday dates for infant, junior, primary and secondary schools in the city


School year 2017 to 2018

For this year all council-run community schools, academies, free schools and voluntary aided schools in the city follow these dates.

Autumn 2017

  • Term starts on Monday 4 September
  • Half term is from Monday 16 October to Friday 27 October
  • Term ends on Wednesday 20 December

Spring 2018

  • Term starts on Tuesday 2 January
  • Half term is from Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February
  • Term ends on Thursday 29 March

Summer 2018

  • Term starts on Thursday 12 April
  • Half term is from Monday 28 May to Friday 1 June
  • Term ends on Tuesday 24 July

Download the school term dates calendar for 2017 to 2018 (PDF 119KB)

School year 2018 to 2019

For this year only community council-run schools follow these term dates.

Autumn 2018

  • Term starts on Tuesday 4 September
  • Half term is from Monday 22 October to Friday 2 November
  • Term ends on Wednesday 19 December

Spring 2019

  • Term starts on Thursday 3 January
  • Half term is from Monday 18 February to Friday 22 February
  • Term ends on Tuesday 9 April

Summer 2019

  • Term starts on Tuesday 23 April
  • Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May
  • Friday 26 July

Download the school term dates calendar for 2018 to 2019 (PDF 93KB)

If your child goes to, or will be going to, an academy, free school or voluntary aided school please ask the school for term dates.

These schools have a one week autumn term from 22 October to 26 October:

  • Cardinal Newman Catholic School
  • Cottesmore St Mary's Catholic Primary School
  • King’s School
  • St Bernadette’s Catholic Primary School
  • St John the Baptist Catholic Primary School
  • St Joseph's Catholic Primary School
  • St Mary Magdalen Catholic Primary School
  • St Mary’s Catholic Primary School

Teacher training days

Schools are also closed for 5 staff training days each school year, called inset days.

Check with your child's school when the inset days will be.