About secondary schools

Secondary schools are for children who are between 11 and 16 years old. If the school has a sixth form, children can study there until they are 18 years old.

Find out about education in UK and the national curriculum

Types of school

We have four types of secondary schools in the city:

  • community schools, which are controlled by Brighton & Hove City Council
  • church voluntary aided schools, which follow the national curriculum, but they can choose what they teach in religious studies
  • free schools, which are funded by the government, but not run by the council
  • academies, which are run by a governing body that is independent from the council and can follow a different curriculum

List of secondary schools

All secondary schools:

    More information

    Download our school application guides for more information.