Christmas and new year recycling and refuse collection dates

Your collection days are changing over Christmas, so please put your refuse and recycling out on…  

Usual day Collected on… 
Monday 23 December Monday 23 December
Tuesday 24 December Tuesday 24 December 
Wednesday 25 December Friday 27 December 
Thursday 26 December Saturday 28 December
Friday 27 December Monday 30 December
Monday 30 December Tuesday 31 December
Tuesday 31 December Thursday 2 January
Wednesday 1 January Friday 3 January
Thursday 2 January Saturday 4 January
Friday 3 January Monday 6 January
Monday 6 January Tuesday 7 January
Tuesday 7 January Wednesday 8 January
Wednesday 8 January Thursday 9 January
Thursday 9 January Friday 10 January
Friday 10 January Saturday 11 January

Download the Christmas and new year recycling and rubbish collection dates (PDF 70KB)

If we miss you, please leave your recycling and rubbish out and we'll pick it up as soon as we can.

There are no garden waste collections between Monday 23 December and Friday 3 January. Garden waste collections start again on usual days from Monday 6 January.

Recycling and rubbish collections return to your usual days from Monday 13 January.

Check your next collection days with your postcode and download your 2020 collection calendar if you have fortnightly recycling collections.

Recycle this Christmas

Christmas trees

Christmas tree recycling sites across the city will be open from Friday 27 December until Friday 10 January. Please remove all decorations and the pot before leaving your tree.

Find your nearest Christmas tree recycling site.

Food and drink 

Plastic bottles can go straight in your recycling box or bin, washed and squashed with the lids replaced. Please don’t put any other plastics in your recycling such as yoghurt pots, butter tubs and food trays. 

Rinsed drink cans and food tins can also go in your recycling, along with egg boxes, cardboard sleeves for food packaging and all tin biscuit boxes. 

Please keep all glass bottles and jars in a separate recycling box so glass doesn’t contaminate the other materials.

Wrapping paper and cardboard

Please only recycle wrapping paper and plain Christmas cards - foil or paper covered in glitter can’t be recycled.

Please remember to flatten all cardboard boxes so they don't take up unnecessary space in recycling bins.

Household waste recycling

You can also take your recycling to a community recycling point or one of the city’s two household recycling centres. The opening times over Christmas and New Year are:

  • Christmas Eve - open until 1pm
  • Christmas Day and Boxing Day - closed
  • Friday 27 December to Monday 30 December - open normal hours
  • New Years’ Eve - open until 1pm
  • New Year's Day - closed
  • Thursday 2 January - reopening as normal

    For all you need to know about recycling in the city, visit our A-Z of recycling.